runworkoutandeat

Running, working out and eating my way to my next marathon!!

VCM Training

on March 20, 2013

Thanks for the well wishes everyone!!  I am feeling much better and thought I would post in a quick training update.  So, I got in 5 miles on Monday and hope to get in around the same tonight.  It depend on how much time I am left with at the end of my workday :).

I was very luck in that last week was a low mileage week so I don’t feel as if I missed out on too much!  And, hopefully that will be my one and only sick time up to the marathon.  I have a 12 miler scheduled for this weekend that I am really excited about.  I am hoping to pick up the pace for this one a bit, my last long run stayed in the mid-11’s so if I can get to low-11’s or high 10’s that would be great.

I stopped blogging for awhile so I never really got to how my first marathon went!  I ran the Phillidelphia Marathon in November and it was a great marathon.  The people and support were wonderful and it was a really great course with both city views and a long run by a river.  I was unfortunately suffering from my first injury for the month-and-a-half leading up to the race mostly due to not taking days off when I needed them.  Anyhow, I ended up with a 5:40 time and really hope to better that and NOT GET INJURED this next one.  The latter being the most important!!!! 

I have heard that Vermont City is a blast and I can only image that it is a beautiful course.  I can’t wait to run my second marathon.  So, I have been adding in hills and speed-work and I really hope that helps with my finish time. I’ve also been getting plenty of cross-training and have kept a pretty good focus on stretching and yoga. 

The other excitement I have coming up is the Cherry Blossom 10 miler with a couple of my friends.  It should be a fun race and it looks like the Cherry Blossom’s might arrive just in time for some very flowery running scenery.

That’s all for today, some boxing and running tonight and I will feel like a champion, lol.

One response to “VCM Training

  1. can’t wait to see what you think of VCM, I’ve considered doing it or another race in that area so I want to know if it’s worth it!

Leave a Reply

